Oxblood Lily are Blooming

Home

pink oxblood lily flower

Two years ago I purchased a bag of Oxblood Lily bulbs also call School House Lily since they were often plants in school years. The bulbs I purchased came from the Southern Bulb Company is Texas. The story is that the Oxblood Lily is native to Argentina and was brought to Texas by German settlers many years ago.

pink oxblood lily flower

The pink Oxblood Lily bulbs are hard to find, red flowering bulbs are more available than the pink. In September they will bloom and then the green foliage appears and stays green all winter. The flower stalks are around 12 to 15 inches tall. They will come back every year. Last year I had flowers but they are taller and more beautiful this year than last year.

My Work

 

16 thoughts on “Oxblood Lily are Blooming

  1. How very beautiful! You might enjoy looking at the beautiful lilies for sale at Plantdelights.com. They have many hard to find varieties. I will look into the Oxblood lilies to see whether the deer devour them or leave them alone. I’d love to try growing some after seeing your photo.

    • Hi Woodlandgnome!
      I like your site, have browsed it alot over the last few months, posted a couple times. Love all your garden pictures!! I have purchased from Tony Advent – Plant Delights occasionally. First met Tony Advent back 2002 when is spoke at our upstate hosta society meeting and leaf competition. Back in those days I was into hybridizing hostas, growing from seed and doing some tissue culture.

      The deer around out place have not found it yet or maybe they just don’t like it. I’d be curious what you find.

      Looks like you grow alot of hard to find plants, you have some beautiful gardens!

      Michael

      • Thank you very much, Michael. I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed browsing the site. I made it to help out friends and neighbors- so looks like maybe you’re both now! Yes, I seek out unusual plants because I enjoy watching them to see what happens as they grow. I ordered a new hosta this spring which was supposed to be creamy white all over- its growing in a pot on the deck, and is solidly medium green. My hostas have been grazed more this summer than most, but the deer got in and scoped out the place when our trees came down in June, destroying part of the deer fence. I spray them with Plant Skydd periodically and always enjoy blooms from them. Tony is a friend of a friend here in the neighborhood, and I have tremendous respect for the amazing work they are doing at Plant Delights. I haven’t been down yet, but hope to make it in the spring. Would love to see some of the hostas you’ve hybridized- do you have a post of photos on your site?
        I’ll be ordering one of your beautiful cutting boards next month 😉 They are amazing, and I can see the love and care you craft into each one.

        Best wishes,
        WG

  2. Your oxbloods are way ahead of mine. It must be all the rain you had this year. We had none to speak of. I have never seen the pink one which in my garden would be preferable to the red which were given to me by one of our local gardeners several years ago. Then Some more at a garden meeting. No one wanted them but they regretted when they turned out to be oxbloods.

    • Hi Jenny,
      I guarantee it was all the rain!… They normally don’t appear this early. I like the pink alot, you could probably search the web and fine the pink color. Most gardens are not familiar with the Oxblood Lily bulbs and flowers, especially in our area. I would think in Texas most would know about them.

      I like your site, your gardens are beautiful. Thank you for visiting my site.
      Michael

  3. Hi MIchael! Thanks for the comment on my photo of lilies. I didn’t know they came in this bright pink that you photographed. The color in the photo is so intense!

Leave a Reply

