Garden Snails

 Home

large snail

Slow as they go…

I walked out on our deck this morning and found this snail. Now let me tell you the real story. Our deck is 55 to 60 feet off the ground! I wonder how long it took him to make it to the top of our deck and why? We have a couple of potted geraniums up there, table and chairs. He couldn’t be coming to eat the geranium, or could he?

Every garden has snails, especially if you grow hosta and other shade plants that are prone to be eaten by snails. I find most of them in my shade garden. They are nocturnal so they will travel around mostly at night. If I have a problem with them eating my plants I will usually go snail hunting after dark. I use my hands to pick up the snails but use tooth picks to get the big slugs. On my snail hunting nights I can easily fill a small 6 ounce cup with them.

Some species of snails hibernate during the cold months covering their bodies with a thin layer of mucus. The mucus prevents them from drying out. Did you know that snails can live from 5 to 25 years depending on their habitat and species.

A Surprise Package

Round Cutting Boards with Handle

 

 

9 thoughts on “Garden Snails

  1. Such a beautiful snail–I can say that because as a mother, I know a snail mother somewhere is very proud you have taken a picture of her child–uh, snail 🙂 HA and who knew they live so long—unfortunately here around our yard, I just manage to see the slugs, and often it is the tell tale trail that I see along the walkway in the mornings as I can see that the slugs were quite busy the night before. Great shot Michael! Thank you for sharing—

Leave a Reply

