Painted Turtles

April 21, 2014

I walked down to the pond yesterday, as I got closer to the pond I could hear frogs jumping and turtles going into the water. They always hear me before I can even get near the pond. During the first few really warm days of spring, the painted turtles start showing up again all along the pond.

 

painted turtles around alake

The Painted Turtle is one of the most widespread native turtles in North America. I can remember as a child catching these when we lived in Florida. As you can see, their shell is near black and smooth with red and yellow strips along their neck, legs and tail. I have found a few painted turtles where the entire head was nearly covered in yellow.

Have a Great Week!

 

21 thoughts on “Painted Turtles

  1. What a beautiful shot! I found a little painted turtle living in a perennial border last week. It was only about an inch and a half across. I moved it about 10 feet away to the edge of a forested area. That little guy came back! I found him again near the original spot an hour or so later! What a beautiful photo you have here. Best wishes, WG

  2. certainly a sign of warming weather as the delightfully lazy days of summer can’t be too far off if the turtles are starting to “sun”
    A wonderful and hopeful picture!!
    Happy Day Michael—
    Julie

Leave a Reply

