Southern Broccoli Salad

broccoli-salad

For lunch today with our chicken salad croissant, I decided to make a broccoli salad. This is a southern broccoli salad because this recipe uses Duke’s mayonnaise. Everyone in the south uses and love Dukes Mayo. The dressing is sweet but also has a little tartness from the white vinegar, it makes this recipe very delicious!

Ingredients:
Dressing:
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup Mayonnaise (Dukes Mayo)
1 teaspoon white vinegar

Broccoli
raisins, add to taste – I generally add a hand full
small red onion, add to taste
bacon, 3-4 strips cooked or use real bacon bits in a jar
Cheddar cheese

Start by washing and cutting the broccoli into bit size pieces. Cook 3-4 strips of bacon or use the real bacon bits in a jar. Let the bacon drain, then chop into bits. Chop small red onion, add as much or little as you like.

Combine all of the dressing ingredients together in a small bowl and mix well.

Just before you are ready to serve, add the cut broccoli, onion and raisins into a bowl and stir in the dressing. Then top with the cheese and bacon.

 

southern-broccoli-salad

Instagram

What is your favorite cold salad, broccoli, pasta, etc? If you have posted your favorite salad recipe, please comment and share a link back to your recipe!

 

 

quilted-flame-maple-round-cheese-board-with-handle

Quilted Flamed Maple Cheese Boards

32 thoughts on “Southern Broccoli Salad

  1. That maple board is lovely Michael. I made a nice dressing at the weekend with walnuts, olive oil and lemon juice… will have to try it again and post it some time! 🙂

  2. I’ve never had broccoli salad but I love the way it sounds, I have also never had Duke’s mayo but I have to find it and try, I love pasta salads mixed with vegetables and a creamy dressing is my preference. I especially like to use tortellini. That board is just gorgeous.

  3. I love this salad (though up north we use Hellman’s). Now I’m bummed as I don’t think I had any this summer…I may just have to make a batch for myself 🙂

    • You should give it a try sometimes~! Duke’s is made here in Greenville where I live and it is good, very different than Hellmans! Your creamy pasta salad looks wonderful, I am planning to make it this weekend! 🙂

  4. Growing up in small town NC I saw my share of Duke’s. This is a tasty salad and hope you enjoyed that delicious-looking meal. What a fine piece of flame maple you scored for that board–gorgeous figure.

Leave a Reply

