Handcrafting a Walnut Hand Mirror – Part I

making a walnut hand mirror

I was asked to make a right-handed hand mirror using Walnut. This is Part 1 of a two part post!

To start, I selected a piece of Walnut that had character and different colors. To reduce the weight I planed the Walnut to 5/8 inch thick.

I then needed to make a template to make it easier for cutting the Walnut to size and to cut the recessed mirror area. I decided to use 1/2 inch plywood for the template. The mirror will be 5 inch in diameter. Next I “rough cut” the Walnut to size but slightly larger than what I wanted the final size to be.

how to make a wood hand mirror

I marked the side of the mirror for a right-handed mirror, see my pencil marks. I applied the template to the rough cut piece of Walnut using double sided tape.

template-for-cutting-mirror-area

Using my router I cut the recessed area that will hold the mirror 1/8 of an inch in depth.

walnut-hand-mirror-ready-for-sanding

The Walnut is now ready for sanding.

Keeping following my post, I will post Part II, the final post soon! In Part II I will show you the sanding, applying the finish and mounting the mirror!

Have a great weekend!

Check out my Instagram!

There are 3 different handle designs for my round cutting boards!!

cutting boards

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Handcrafting a Walnut Hand Mirror – Part I

Leave a Reply

