Vanilla Ice Cream

large-bowl-of-homemade-vanilla-ice-cream

Be sure to click the pictures so see the flecks of vanilla bean!

I love ice cream and if I buy it, I go for Ben and Jerry’s. As a child one of my most favorite memories is eating ice cream with my grandparents after dinner. There is something about homemade vanilla ice cream that is just so amazing, especially this recipe. This recipe is so creamy, so delicious, once you have tasted this recipe you will want to make it all the time. …MMM so good!!! Make me do the Happy Dance! 🙂

bowl-of-homemade-vanilla-ice-cream

All the flecks of vanilla bean, the rich egg yolks, heavy cream makes for a rich creamy custardy ice cream. All the egg yolks make this ice cream yellow color. Did you know that vanilla is the most popular flavor ice cream with chocolate as second?

July is National Ice Cream Month, in 1984; President Ronald Reagan designated July as National Ice Cream Month. The third Sunday of the month is National Ice Cream Day.

So let me show you how I make this homemade ultimate Vanilla Ice Cream!

Ingredients
1 cup whole milk
¾ cup caster (superfine) sugar
1 vanilla bean
Pinch of salt
2 cups cream
6 egg yolks
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Serving size: 1 quart
vanilla-ice-cream-ingredients

The recipe is easy but there are a lot of steps. Be sure to read the entire recipe and get organized before you start. The first thing I will tell you is, do not substitute any of the ingredients, especially the caster sugar. Caster sugar is very a very fine sugar and it does make a different. Use the highest fat heavy cream you can find.

Place the whole milk, sugar and salt in a small saucepan. Split the vanilla bean and scrape out the seed and add them to the milk. I reuse the vanilla bean pod by placing it into my bottle of pure vanilla extract or us it to make vanilla sugar.

Place the saucepan over high heat and bring the mil mixture to just under a boil. Remove from heat, cover the pot, set aside to infuse for an hour.

After an hour we are ready to make the ice cream. Make an ice bath using a large bowl and fill it with a little water and lots of ice cubes. Set a slightly smaller bowl in the ice bath and pour in the heavy cream. Place a strainer over the smaller bowl which will be used to strain the egg mixture.

In a separate, medium size heat proof bowl, whisk the egg yolks lightly. Slowly pout the infused milk into the yolks whisking the entire time until combined.

Place this bowl over a pot of simmering water, cook while constantly stirring until the mixture reaches 180 degrees F or until the mixture coats the back of a spoon. Remove from heat and pour through the strainer into the heavy cream.

vanilla-ice-cream-custard

Mixture has been strained into the heavy cream.

Stir the custard over the ice bath until it’s cooled and then add the pure vanilla extract. Then remove bowl from the ice bath, cover with plastic wrap and place into your fridge until cold, preferably overnight.

ice-cream-maker

Once the custard is cold, you are ready to churn your ice cream. Pour your custard into your churn.

cuisinart-ice-cream-maker

My churn takes about 30 minutes to make the ice cream. Once the ice cream is done it will be soft, so I remove it into another container and place it into the freezer to get hard but not before I taste it!

bowl-of-homemade-vanilla-ice-cream

I hope you will give this recipe a try, it’s the ultimate homemade vanilla ice cream! so good!! I guess you could add your favorite topping, chocolate, brownie, broken candy bars, etc. or mix it into the ice cream but this recipe is so good without toppings! 🙂

Do you make homemade ice cream?

Enjoy your ice cream!!

personalized engraved ice cream scoop old fashion paddle stainless steel Michael's Woodcraft Greenville SC South Carolina woodwork

Check out my handcrafted heavy duty old fashion ice cream paddles and ice cream scoops! For more information, view more images or to order, click SHOP NOW

Shop Now

 

47 thoughts on “Vanilla Ice Cream

  1. okay, I’m in–I’ll try it–I usually don’t make the custard varieties but this one looks delish!!!
    And I’m liking your cusinart maker—I need to get a new maker—so I think I’ll order a new one and let this recipe be my trial run 🙂
    Hugs and love Michael who wants to make me fat!!!
    julie

    • Hi Julie, I got my cusinart make at Bed Bath & Beyond since they always have a 20% coupons! Let me know how it turns out, be sure to leave it in the freezer for 24 hours before eating! We both have to work out harder after eating ice cream!! big hugs 🙂

  2. Hi Michael. Looks so tasty! I love vanilla too. But today I have lots of blueberries, so I might make some blueberry ice cream if I get the time. 😉

  3. Classic creamy vanilla ice cream. Love it and yes I make ice cream all the time although not recently I have such a huge amount of unused egg whites I need to use before I separate more eggs. Love that scoop.

  4. I have to get my Cuisinart ice cream making out before ice cream month is over! There is nothing better than a delicious and rich vanilla ice cream.

  5. Vanilla bean is my absolute favorite ice cream and this looks so so good, Michael. It definitely would make me do a happy dance!:) How do you like your ice cream maker? We got ours for a wedding present 29 years ago, and I have been thinking of getting a new one. The ice cream scoop is really beautiful, too!

  6. Such yumminess indeed! Vanilla is definitely my favorite icecream flavour. Your scoop is beautiful,I bet it makes the icecream even tastier! 🙂

  7. I haven’t tried this recipe yet! I can’t wait to get home and give it a try, I love vanilla and totally get why it’s the top flavor. I find many of the other flavors are a bit overly sweet for my taste. I’m glad to have a new tried and true recipe to try!

    • Hi Teresa! First let me say I am glad you made it over to visit my blog! It does make great ice cream but as you know it is all in the recipe!! 🙂 I hope you make it back to my site again, I am posting a Dark Chocolate Ice Cream recipe next week! 🙂 I plan to make your Blueberry Strudel Cake.

  8. Really good recipe! When we make vanilla with an ice cream machine, we make something quite similar. Great post — thanks.

Leave a comment