Making Pasta Fazool

Home

pasta fazool soup or Pasta fagioli soup

My grandmother and grandfather wre Italian, both from Genoa, Italy. They both came to America in 1908. My grandmother made Pasta Fazool for us all the time. The Pasta Fazool was eaten before the main meal. Pasta Fazool means “pasta and beans” and one of our family favorites.

map of Italy show Genoa

I have been making my grandmothers recipe for nearly 30 years at least 3 or 4 times a year. My children love this soup! What is it called in your family – Pasta Fagioli or Pasta Fazool?

Today, I decided to make Pasta Fazool for my wife and I. This recipe makes enough to feed 6 to 8 people so we will be having it again later in the week. It actually taste better the second day.

Ingredents
16 oz. Great Northern dried beans
8 to 10 cups water
1/4 cup olive oil or cookng oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 medium onion chopped
1 celery stalk diced
5 carrots, chopped coin size
bay leaf
12 oz can whole roma tomatoes
2-3 sliced of diced & cooked prosciutto (optional) *My children to not like me to include proscitto, so I left it out of my recipe below.
Grated Parmesan cheese

Overnight Soak
Prepare the beans the night before making your overnight soaking.

Rinse your beans!
Bagged beans are often very dirty and contain rocks, and other debris so wash them multiple times until the drained water is no longer dirty. Look for rocks as you rinse the beans. After rinsing, put rinsed beans into a large cooking pot. Remember that the beans will swell, so use a big pot. Add water, oil and salt and cover for overnight soaking.

ingredents for pasta fazool soup

tomatoes-celery-carrots-onion for pasta fazool soup

Cut your onion, celery and carrots.

Chopped-carrot-celery-onion

Cooking Directions after Overnight Soak
Add onion, celery, carrots and bay leaf to pot and then place the pot on the stove. If you don’t have a bay leaf it will be just as good without it. I ususally start cooking early in the morning with plans to eat that evening, cooking low and slow. Cooking low will generally take about 6-8 hours. I start the termperature at 2.0 which is low heat and adjust as needed. The trick is not to cook too fast, that will break down the beans too quickly. Don’t let them boil!

add onion, ccelery and carrot to past fazool soup

Above picture I just added the onion, celery and carrots.

After about three-four hours I check the carrots. The carrots take longer to cook. If they are cooked, I then add the can of whole tomatoes, juice and all. I cook the tomatoes for about 30 minutes, then I will cut the whole tomato in smaller pieces. Taste and add a little more salt to taste, if needed. I continue to simmer until we are ready to eat.

roma tomatoes

Roma Tomotoes

added-tomatoes to pasta fazool soup

Roma tomatoes added to soup

In another pot, cook your pasta, any small pasta shell or noodle will do. It will take about 10 minutes to get the water boiling and another 8 to 9 minutes for the pasta to cook. Don’t over cook, I will cook until al dente. We keep the pasta separate from the soup since my girls prefer it without the pasta.

In the last minutes before serving, taste and add seasoning to your taste. Serve hot, adding pasta to your bowl, you will also want pepper and maybe some grated Parmesan cheese!

bowl of pasta fazool soup

Enjoy! Your gonna want seconds!

Round Cutting Boards with Paddle Handle

17 thoughts on “Making Pasta Fazool

  1. I knew there was a good reason as to why you’re my new friend –as I am a lost Italian soul. I’ve written about it on and off—my roommates in college use to say that I was the long lost love child of Sophia Loren 🙂
    I love Italy and have been most fortunate to spend time there over the years, but never enough–as I have a dear friend in Florence and a cousin there as well.
    The zuppa looks divine and I will put it on the do list this week. Thank you for sharing Michael.
    On another note, I’m working on putting together a post regarding my new “cheese” board—I’ve deduced I can’t use it for cutting as it is too pretty—it will take center stage Thanksgiving as I’ll use it for appetizers as everyone waits for me to finish assembling the meal!!
    Blessings to you and your family—Julie

    • Hi Julie!!
      How cool is that! I have never been to Italy but hope to someday as I also have cousins there too. Ths Pasta Fazool is very easy to make, I hope you do give it a try. You will have to let me know what you think.

      It’s hard to believe that Thanksgiving is here already. Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays and I will also be cooking. One of the cakes I am making I plan to use your Bourbon Vanilla Extract and I will be posting about it too. I am so glad that you like the board! Be sure to take pictures of it Thanksgiving day!

      I hope you and your family have a blessed Thanksgiving!
      Michael

  2. Looks delcious and healthy at the same time . Nice to hear that your roots are Italian Michael. So many different cultures co-exist to make one beautiful world 🙂

  3. It sounds so good! I eat pasta and beans all the time, so I know I’d enjoy this soup. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    PS – I do give my chickens crushed oyster shells and I also save their egg shells and feed them back to the chickens once the shells are dried out. We haven’t had any predator problems yet (fingers crossed) so I’m happy about that. We do have a big livestock guardian dog who lives with the chickens, so I think she scares off most of the would be predators!

Leave a comment