Oval Cutting Board

Home

oval walnut cutting board

Well its been a hectic week to say the least between catching up in the shop, Christmas shopping, grocery shopping, cooking for a couple parties and planning for Christmas. Tomorrow evening and Tuesday morning I will start cooking desserts for Christmas day which includes two cakes, carrot and coconut cake, blueberry muffins, chocolate chip cookies and peanut butter pie.

I completed all of the boards I promised and got them shipped. Most all of them will arrive before Christmas. I also found some time to work on a new prototype oval cutting board. The board in the pictures is made of Walnut. After making 4 different patterns and sizes I settled on this design.

oval walnut cutting board

This board dimensions are 15 1/4″ long x 11 3/4″ wide x 3/4″ thick. It’s handmade just like all my other boards. I then hand sand to a smooth finish, apply numerous coats of food safe mineral oil and then I add a top coat of my special mixture of mineral oil and beeswax. The picture is of my new Walnut wood oval cutting board .

oval walnut cutting board

Oval Walnut Cutting Board

Please give me feedback my new oval board as well as the size of the board?

oval cherry cutting board

oval walnut cutting board

wood conditioner, spoon butter, board butter or wood butter in tins, made from mineral oil and beeswax, spoon butter

Wood Conditioner helps to keep your cutting board in good condition.

17 thoughts on “Oval Cutting Board

      • Merry Christmas! Do you think you’ll do any of the oval boards with multiple woods? I loved the “striped” effects on some of your tear-drop shaped boards.

        We have heavy rain here this AM-which wasn’t forecast to begin until mid-day. No chance for dry errands this morning after all. I’m starting a new round of cooking (Stollen) and trying to finish all of the cards and wrapping today. (Have fun with your cooking 😉 Please wish me luck in moving the mountain! Peace with you and yours, WG

        • Yes, I like the multiple woods as well, would you like me to make you one?

          We had heavy rain all night, our creek is over flowing but the rain has slowed down for now. I went out and got the last minute groceries I needed yesterday afternoon. Stollen sounds good! Good luck and be safe!! 🙂

        • Of course I would love to have one of your cutting boards, Michael, and I would use it every day. I need to wait a while to order it, however. Every penny has been spoken for for a few months, now. If any of my Christmas gifts are green this year, you will hear from me immediately with an order,I promise 😉 Glad to hear you’re stocked up and don’t have to go out in the heavy weather. Water is standing all over here, too, and the ditches and creeks are full. I think I need one more trip to the market for more cream cheese and cider, and a trip to deliver some gifts to friends, and then we’re in until Wed. AM. Snow in our forecast for Christmas Eve 😉 Merry Christmas! Elizabeth

        • Just let me know when ever you are ready I will make you a board. Our creek was over flowing this morning and is still running strong. I am not sure what the weather is going to be the next few days but I heard it was going to get really cold again. I hope I don’t have to go to the grocery again!! 🙂

        • I remembered what I forgot as we returned from our grocery trip. One more time out, while a loaf of bread baked, and we’re done. The gate is closed, the doors are locked, the lights are twinkling, and its Christmas at our house 😉 I’m hoping to send you that order within the next week, Michael. What will your price be for an oval board with 2 or 3 different woods? I can see organizing chopped vegetables each in its own section on the board as I prep to cook 😉

Leave a comment