Strawberry Topped Cheesecake

Home

cheesecake

I haven’t met anyone yet who doesn’t love cheesecake!  For Valentine’s Day, I decided to create this delicious glazed strawberry cheesecake for my wife today. She was very Happy! Because strawberries, chocolate and Valentine’s Day just go together.  🙂
new york cheesecake
This cheesecake is a GORGEOUS show-stopper and is to die for cheesecake. And not only is it beautiful but is tastes delicious! I just love Cheesecakes so I make them all the time.

This is my regular cheesecake recipe that I use a lot. With this recipe you can easily change up the flavors. I went to Sam’s yesterday and while I was there I found the most beautiful strawberries for my cheesecake. Did I say how delicious and creamy this cheesecake recipe is? If you like cheesecake, you will love this recipe, it is so good!

The recipe is easy but it has a good many steps.

delicious cheesecake

Ingredients:
For the crust:
This time I decided to use a brownie crust but if you want to make a graham cracker crust, chocolate cookie crust, vanilla wafer crust, Oreo cookie crust, etc. you can. If you want to make a cookie crust, go to my Chocolate Cheesecake recipe post to get the ingredients. I decided used a Duncan Hines brownie mix for the crust so that I had a nice chocolate crust.

For the filling:
1 cup granulated sugar
3 – 8 ounce packages of Philadelphia cream cheese
2 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract
3 large eggs
1 cup sour cream

For the topping:
2 cups chopped strawberries
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup water
1 tablespoon cornstarch
2 tablespoons water
red food coloring – optional

Let’s get started, prepare your spring form pan. Be sure that it is assembled correctly so that it doesn’t leak at the bottom. I spread butter on the bottom and side, then insert a round piece of parchment paper to line the bottom. This will make it much easier to remove the cheesecake.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix the brownie mix according to the instructions on the box. Use only half of the mix in your spring form pan, place the other half in another pan. You can bake both of these at the same time, the other half make a good snack! When done remove from the oven and cool completely.

new york cheesecake

Brownie crust is done!

For the Cheesecake filling:
When the brownie crust is nearly done, start the filling. Set out the cream cheese and eggs, let them come to room temperature. In a clean mixing bowl, blend the cream cheese and sugar until combined, scraping down the sides of your bowl as needed. Blend in eggs one at a time until combined, be sure not to over blend the eggs. Blend only until the yolk is mixed. Now, add the vanilla, using a spatula fold until vanilla is blended. Add the sour cream, again using your spatula fold in the sour cream. Pour filling over cooled crust and smooth the top.

cheesecake

Cheesecake filling poured on top of the brownie ready to bake.

Wrap bottom of spring form pan tightly with 2 layers foil and place into a larger, deep baking pan. Pour water into large pan until water reaches about halfway up the sides of the spring form pan to create a water bath.

Carefully place pan in oven and bake at 350 degrees F for about 45 minutes or until center is set and the top looks slightly dry. Don’t over cook or it will not be very creamy, keeping watching every few minutes until the center is set then remove from oven.

Cool cheesecake on a wire rack. Place pan into the fridge to chill overnight but do not cover the cheesecake. Remove cheesecake from pan after cheesecake has been chilled overnight. Remove from the spring form pan and place on your favorite cake dish! You are now ready to eat or you can add a topping.

cheesecake

Cheesecake is done and is cooling.

Wash your strawberries, remove the stems and pat dry with a paper towel. Pick out the best berries and place them on top of your cheesecake.

cheesecake recipe

To make the filling, chop strawberries, place in pot with sugar and water. Place on medium high heat, stirring bring to a boil. While the strawberry mixture is heating, in a separate small bowl, mix the 2 table spoons of water with corn starch until you have a slurry.

Once the strawberry mixture gets warm, continue stirring constantly until it starts to boil. Then lower the heat to medium and add the cornstarch mixture and continue to stir for 4 minutes or until thick. Remove from heat and let cool for 3-4 minutes before topping cheesecake.

cheesecake and strawberries

You can serve the topping as-is with a chunky texture, or puree it smooth with an immersion blender. You can also puree it to about halfway, so that it’s almost smooth but still has some texture. Use for anything that requires a sweet strawberry topping, like cheesecake, ice cream sundaes or waffles!! 🙂

delicious cheesecake

slice of cheesecake

Happy, happy, happy, boy this is delicious!!! 🙂

Happy Valentine’s Day!! 🙂

Check out my recent post,

Making Crème Brûlée          Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cake

creme brulee       best ever chocolate chip cake recipe

Strawberry Pie                        Chocolate Cheesecake

strawberry pie       chocolate cheesecake recipe

Walnut Charcuterie board serving board tray food presentation tray Wood Tray handcrafted Michael's Woodcraft Greenville South Carolina woodworking

For more information, view more images or to order, click SHOP NOW

Shop Now

84 thoughts on “Strawberry Topped Cheesecake

  1. My heart missed a beat… actually, my heart missed five beats in a row…. WOW!

    this is simply absolutely decadent and perfect for V-day! your wife is a lucky lucky woman! 😉

      • Lord I know—Gregory is so worried about business with a looming storm (jeweler who owns his own business) –we’re to get snow topped by ice—we went and filled up gas canisters this evening in case we need the generator—looks to be a massive event—at least Atlanta will be ready this time 🙂

        • I remember you telling me yall owned a jewelry store, I hope they get their weather wrong this time. It sure was a mess. I also went out and filled up the cars and two five gallon cans of gas for our generator. I sure hope we don’t need it. I worry about the sleet, ice and freezing rain the most because then we will have a power outage. Let’s hope for the best! 🙂

  2. First the creme brulee and now a cheesecake. Michael, Michael, Michael two of my faves!!! Wow, is this beautiful and I just now it was to die for! And I’m just left here salivating and yearning. Blessings, Natalie 😦

  3. Your wife is a very lucky lady! What a gorgeous surprise for her! And it’s not even Valentine’s Day yet! This would be perfect for that special day with it’s pretty red strawberries on top. I love the way you arranged them too, it’s unique.. and a brownie crust.. oh my gosh, this is spectacular!!
    ps love the cake stand too;)

  4. Oh my goodness! That looks absolutely scrumptious! I do hope your wife appreciates all the effort! I think you’ll have to make another one on the day, just to prove you made it for her, and not for you! 😉

  5. What a pretty presentation for that cheesecake, and what a lucky spouse you have! I think I see cheesecake in my near future, because how could I not after getting your wonderful instructions!

  6. You have outdone yourself! What a perfect Valentine gift. Your wife must adore you. Those strawberries are just outrageous, and I love the touch of fresh strawberries with the cooked berry sauce. Looks like I need to go shopping …. Best wishes, WG

    • Thank you Marlies, we don’t normally have strawberries this time of year but it has been really warm in,Florida and these were shipped to our grocery stores from Florida! Good for me because they are delicious, very sweet. I make it with frozen strawberries when I can’t get fresh and it is just as delicious. 🙂

  7. Oh my God! I love cheesecakes and this one looks so decadent! I wish I could have it now 🙂 You are truly an artist dear Michael 🙂

  8. I’ve never met a cheesecake I didn’t like! In this case, love! This looks terrific — wonderful looks, and I’ll bet the flavor is outstanding. Good stuff — thanks.

  9. Oh my gosh,that’s a gorgeous cheesecake, Michael! I will be pinning this for the future 🙂 BTW, I pinned your chocolate cheesecake a while back and have had a LOT of repins.

    I will email you when we get back in a little over a week.

    • Hi Susan, thank you so much, the cheesecake was delicious! Thank you for pinning both cheesecakes, I have also gotten a some visits to my site too. I am so glad you got the virus worked out on your blog! Have fin on your trip! 🙂

  10. Hi Michael, and thanks for visiting my blog. I am really glad that you did – partly because you have some great dessert recipes and also be cause I am in the market for a new end grain round cutting board. Can you email me so that I can get a price quote? Thanks!

    • Thank you Tricia! I feel like I am the lucky one! I went to Sam’s this morning and purchased some really beautiful strawberries and plan to make another cheesecake Thursday evening! The brownie crust adds that little bit of chocolate 🙂

Leave a comment