Hot Fudge Sauce, Chocolate Cake and Ice Cream

hot fudge cake recipe and ice cream better than Shoney's hot fuidge cake hot fudge sauce hot fudge syrup hot fudge sundae made from scratch best dessert ever awesome dessert chocolate dessert chocolate fudge Michael's Woodcraft Greenville SC

If you love chocolate, you will love this recipe! This recipe is better than the old Shoney’s Hot Fudge Cake, if you can remember that! This has got to be one of the Top Food Pleasures EVER! Ok, if you love chocolate, you are going to love me for this post!! This is one of the most magnificent, hot fudge sauce recipes you will ever taste!

If you try my Hot Fudge Sauce recipe, it will become one of your most favorite recipes ever. Let me warn you though, it is very addictive and oh so delicious!!! You won’t be able to stop eating it, your taste buds will explode with pleasure and you will want more and more!

On your first bite, it will make you do the HAPPY dance!  🙂

….MMM so good!

best ever hot fudge cake recipe

I am telling you this is a serious hot fudge sauce recipe that is homemade and easy to make! Does this recipe remind you of the Shoney’s Hot Fudge Cake, well it looks like it but this recipe is much better, thicker and more delicious, I promise you. Are you drooling yet?

best ever hot fudge cake recipe

This recipe has been in our family for a very long time, over 50 years. When I think of this recipe, I think about how wonderful it taste and all the good times with family! We would even hand churn ice cream and add this hot fudge making a vanilla fudge swirl ice cream.

 

hot fudge sauce

I often give away the mason jars of hot fudge as gifts!

With your spoon drizzle the hot fudge sauce over cool cake and ice cream it will be gooey, thick and get thicker as it cools but never turns hard.

ultimate hot fudge sauce

I know what you are thinking, how many calories? Too many to count…does it really matter, enjoy it, don’t feel guilty, just try it, enjoy it because you deserve it!

Ingredients:

> see picture of the brand of items I use.
1/2 cup cocoa
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup light or dark Karo syrup
1/2 cup evaporated milk
1/2 tsp salt
3 tablespoons margarine, I use Land Of Lakes brand
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

**Recipe makes 2o ounces.

 

homemade hot fudge cake

Start by combine all ingredients except vanilla into your pot. Vanilla will be the last ingredient added once you take the chocolate sauce off the stove top.

easy to make hot fudge cake chocolate syrup

Above, all ingredients in pot ready to start heating! Cook over medium heat, stirring until full boil. Boil for 3 minutes, constantly stirring.

easy to make hot fudge cake recipe

Above, all ingredients combined about ready to start boiling.

hot fudge syrup recipe

Above, low boil on medium Be careful stirring, (be sure to constantly stir) you don’t want to splash the HOT fudge sauce onto your fingers or hand. After boiling for 3 minutes, remove completely from the heat and add 1 tsp pure vanilla extract and stir to incorporate.

hot fudge syrup recipe

While the chocolate syrup is hot pour into a glass container. I use the small wide mouth Ball mason jars.

homemade hot fudge sauce

Using the wide mouth mason jar will make it easier to heat and gives you easy access with a spoon to remove the chocolate syrup when you are ready to eat! A jar of my homemade hot fudge sauce makes a great gift too. 🙂 Be sure to store the hot fudge sauce in the fridge until you are ready to eat. As it cools it will become really thick. All you need to do is heat it in the microwave to get it hot and ready to eat! Now to make the cake, I use Duncan Hines cake mix and just follow the instructions on the back of the box.

hot fudge cake syrup

Use a 9 X 13 inch sheet cake pan. All ingredients mixed and ready to go into the oven.

Big Boy's hot fudge cake recipe

 

Maybe you prefer only the cake and hot fudge, it’s just as delicious! 🙂 You can also use this hot fudge sauce to for fondue, dipping fruit, strawberries, pineapple, marshmallows, etc., you name it!!

to die for hot fudge cake

When I make this recipe I will buy the Mayfield vanilla ice cream in the rectangle carton to make it easy to slice the ice cream. Cut you a piece of cake, slice it in half, cut a piece of ice cream to fit, then you are ready to cover with the hot fudge sauce! Add whip cream too! homemade hot fudge sauce homemade hot fudge sauce hot chocolate fudge sauce

If you don’t want to do the cake, it’s great with just ice cream! Or over brownies or cup cakes, be creative.

Please Pin my pictures!

Check out my recent post, I have to tell you that the Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cakes is Awesome!!!  SO is the Crème Brulee and the Strawberry pie, and…..

Making Crème Brûlée          Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cake

creme brulee       best ever chocolate chip cake recipe

Strawberry Pie                        Chocolate Cheesecake

strawberry pie       chocolate cheesecake recipe

Cheesecake                              Red Velvet Cake

cheesecake     red velvet cake

 

Walnut Charcuterie board serving board tray food presentation tray Wood Tray handcrafted Michael's Woodcraft Greenville South Carolina woodworking

For more information, view more images or to order, click SHOP NOW

Shop Now

 

99 thoughts on “Hot Fudge Sauce, Chocolate Cake and Ice Cream

  1. How my gosh Michael—you’ve gone overboard—you’re killing me—this is Lent you know—I feel like I’m breaking Lent just drooling over this!!!!!
    Chocolate, whipped cream and ice-cream—does it get any better?
    No it does not!!!
    Yes hot fudge cake sundaes—my dad’s go to desert when I was little and he’d take us out on Saturday nights to a place called the Seven Steers—an old Atlanta steak place in the 60’s
    I am putting this on my to do list as soon as Lent is over!!!!! Or actually, I may need to wait until after the wedding….I don’t need to duck tape any more body parts 😉
    You’ve out done yourself my friend!!!
    Happy cooking–
    Cookie

      • Oh my gosh!! Atlanta has morphed into something I no longer know. Old landmarks torn down, high rise this and that—it’s awful. Yes, on Roswell Rd—Dad loved it—I assume the steaks were affordable for a family-as I’f think my brother and I were relegated to hamburgers. I remember the huge steer heads along the walls—obviously 7 of them–Dad always got the hot fudge sundae—which looks a lot like your delicious picture–
        thank you for the memories Michael!!!

        • I know, it is happening everywhere. You should print and save that picture, show your father and brother! I took rolls of film pictures years ago, 1969-1973 of old builds in Greenville, most are gone now! You wouldn’t recognize downtown Greenville now compare to when I took the pictures. Memories and photographs are all we have of the past, hold on to them! Bless you Julie! 🙂

  2. I am an expert in the happy dance, so I might have to try this fudge and dive into it. Dive into the dance, that is, the sauce I suspect I need moderation… together with the cake and the ice cream, what a dream!!!!

    • Hi Ceara, If you like chocolate, you just can’t resist making this recipe, it’s wonderful! 🙂 I am so glad you had a chance to visit my site! I am glad I found your site, lots of good recipes!

  3. My goodness Michael! Talk about temptation! This looks sooo incredibly scrummy! I see a recurring theme… someone in your house is a chocoholic…. 😉 I’m going to have to try that sauce some day! 😀

  4. Yummy recipe – you should join the Fiesta Party on The Novice Gardener’s blog – this week’s contribution ends Wed. at noon but another one will start on Friday. If you look on my St. Patrick’s Day cupcake recipe you can link to the party from their – just follow the directions. You will meet a lot of “fun” bloggers with great recipes and interesting stories 🙂

    • thank you, it is delicious! I am glad you got a chance to visit my blog, I really enjoyed visit your site today, lovely recipes. And you have 646 posted recipes, wow, that’s incredible! I will check out the Fiesta Party, thank you. 🙂

  5. Oh my gosh, I’m doing a happy dance just looking at the photos. I may have to print this and then eat the paper just hoping I’ll get a taste of it. If I lived at your house, I’d weigh about a 1000 pounds, Michael. Thanks for the recipe. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

  6. This is a chocoholic’s fantasy, Michael. I give homemade gifts at Christmas and I just found the first one for this Yuletide. A jar of fudge will be very well-received. Thanks!

  7. Thanks for this recipe! I grew up with Americans (they were based in my town) and so I was lucky getting some of the stuff you mention in your recipe. I have only the best memories of Hersheys. Also, when my family was invited, we did get chocolate fudge sauce and I never knew how to make a nice one, although I tried many recipes.
    I will surely try this one, as soon as I have found some of the ingredients here.
    Maybe it will be close to the one I ate when I was a little girl. Thanks!

    • Hi Davina, your are welcome, I sure hope you can find ingredients. If you can’t find Hershey cocoa, buy the best you can find, I am sure it will taste wonderful! 🙂 If you try my recipe, please let me know how it was 🙂

  8. OMG we’re on a cake roll, Michael! The first hot fudge cake I ever ate was at Shoney’s in Knoxville shortly after I arrived from Maine to go to college. I fell in love. I don’t make it often but your photos are taking me WAY back.

    I saw your cutting boards on SallyBR’s bewitchingkitchen.com and I was SO envious. Your work is nothing short of perfection. I’m going to start saving up for shipping all the way to Australia. 🙂 I must have at least one.

    • good evening Maureen! Yes I agree, if you were my neighbor I would trade you my Hot Fudge Cake for some of your chocolate cake!! 🙂 Everyone tells me that my recipe is better than the Shoney’s recipe and I think so too! I hope you will give it a try and let me know what you think. This recipe has been in our family for more than 50 years!

      Yes, Barbara was so kind to post about my boards, she had bought one for her husband for Valentine’s Day! 🙂

  9. Oh this is crazy good….Such a beautiful cake.. and the sauce? Holy smokes…I am writing the recipe down as soon as I post this. I totally admit to just melting chocolate chips in the microwave when I have been out of store bought chocolate fudge!! I can’t wait to impress my family with this!! It is so nice of you to share your family’s recipe.. 🙂

    • Hi there, you will find this to be the best Hot Fudge Sauce you have ever tasted, it is that good. As soon as it starts to get cool it becomes thick and is even more delicious! Please come back and let me know if you do try my recipe! 🙂

      I am so glad you had a chance to visit my blog! I enjoy your blog, love eggs benedict and your post, pictures were amazing!

      Michael

  10. Just to let my readers know. I’m having a hard time with a health issue right now and now I can post nothing on my blog nor can I get any help from WordPress with whatever the problem is. So please pray for me that these issues will be resolved soon. Blessings to all, Natalie 🙂

  11. Hey, Michael, may I suggest something that would be really helpful in navigating your blog? Install the “Pin It” button from pinterest. It’s easy, even for technically unsavvy folks. That would help with the pinning. I also recommend installing the Shareaholic widget so people can share your stuff on facebook, google+, pinterest or wherever. It would really make navigation easier for me if you had a search widget, and an archives or categories widget so I could look up recipes you’ve made in groupings–like desserts, beef, fish or whatever instead of just happenstance. Most blogs have those things installed on their side bars, but I can’t find any on yours. Just saying….hope that helps.

  12. I’m an animal lover so I am vegan but this looks too good not to Veganize!!

    Yumm Duncan Hines has alot of Vegan Cake Mix so I’m sure the chocolate version is! I just use 8 oz of cherry coke OR w/e soda you want( you can’t even taste it hehe) instead of 3 eggs & oil, it really cuts down the fat & calories & it’s still sooo moist. Then for the chocolate sauce http://mylittlecelebration.com/vegan-hot-fudge-chocolate-sauce/ this recipe! I wonder how much it cuts the calories down hehe. I know it def helps the animals! Thanks for sharing. & Oh yeah for the ice cream I could maybe make my own cashew milk ice cream or buy some of So Delicious @ target, they’re alot cheaper!

  13. Pingback: Ooey Gooey | Michael's Woodcraft

Leave a comment