Ooey Gooey

June 29, 2014

ooey gooey best-ever-caramel-pie

If you love Caramel Pie, this is the best ever, most delicious Carmel Pie ever! The recipe for this dessert is as easy to make as it is delicious! And today is your lucky day, this recipe only includes 5 ingredients but only two to make the pie, the others are garnishes and are optional!

ooey-gooey-slice-of-caramel-pie-whipped-cream-pecans-and-mini-chocolate-chips

Ooey Gooey Caramel Pie, that’s what O’Charley’s restaurant calls it and it is delicious. My recipe is the CopyCat recipe. I can remember when O’Charley’s first came to Greenville, SC back in the mid 1980’s. Their signature pie back then was this caramel pie and it still is today but it is not as good today as it was back then. They have changed the recipe and it is served nearly frozen. This copycat recipe is really delicious and ever so easy to make! 🙂

eagle-brand-milk-and-graham-cracker-crust

Most copycat recipes call for 2 cans of Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk but I use three so that the pie shell is completely full. If you have never made this pie, you won’t believe step one. Remove the labels from the Eagle Brand Milk cans, DO NOT OPEN the cans. Step two is to get your large pot, add water nearly to the top, then add the cans to the water. Place the pot on the stove on high for boiling the water.

Ingredients:
1 – large graham cracker crust
3 – cans Eagle Brand Condensed Milk
1 – can of Reddi-wip
1/2 cup Pecans
1 – 6 oz bag of Toll House Mini Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels

eagle-brand-milk-cans-in-water

The Eagle Brand Milk cans need to boil for 3 hours.

eagle-brand-milk-cans-in-boiling-water

VERY IMPORTANT: During the boiling process, water will quickly evaporate from the pot, be sure to add water often during the process so that the cans are always covered. I had to add water about ever 25 minutes. Be sure that the cans are always covered with water, cans have been known to explode if the cans are not kept covered with water.

Now, go find something to do while your Eagle Brand Milk is turning into the most creamy, decadent and rich caramel sauce you have ever tasted!

caramel-in-can

After 3 hours, I remove the pot from the heat and let the water and cans cool. If you open the cans while hot you are asking for trouble. The caramel will ooze out as soon as you pop the top and will burn you, might even hit your ceiling, trust me on this one. 🙂

In about an hour, remove the tops of the cans, be very careful, the caramel will still be extremely hot and can burn you. Pour the caramel into the pie crust and smooth out carefully to not break the crust with a spoon or spatula.

spreading-caramel-in-pie-shell

hot-carmels-in-pie-shell

Place your pie into the refrigerator on a wire rack and let it chill for about two hours. DO not add the Reddi-wip until the pie is completely cold! We add the Reddi-wip to each slice as we cut the pie.

cutting-a-caramel-pie

Once the pie is completely cooled, cut a slice, top with Reddi-wip, then garnish with a few chopped pecans and mini chocolate chip morsels! Or you can eat it plain too.

caramel-pie-with-no-garnishes

slice-of-ooey-gooey-caramel-pie

I am now ready to eat, it’s so easy to make and very delicious!

slice-of-caramel-pie-with-Reddi-Whip

Add more whipped cream if you like. I hope you try this recipe, you will enjoy it a lot 🙂

 

Best ever, delicious Hot Fudge Cake

hot fudge cake and ice cream

Be sure to check out my dessert recipes!

If you love to cook check out my handmade, Round Cutting Boards

handcrafted round-cutting-board maple walnut and cherry Michael's Woodcraft Greenville SC South Carolina buy cutting board

For more information, view more images or to order, click SHOP NOW

Shop Now

43 thoughts on “Ooey Gooey

    • It is absolutely delicious and the best caramel pie you will ever eat! I am so glad you visited my blog! I just visited your blog too, all the beautiful pictures of Venice. I have never made it to Venice, only Germany and France. My family is from Genoa Italy but never been there, maybe I will get to visit when I retire. Love all your pictures!

      • Thank you so much for coming to see my blog! I have some friends who do wonderful woodwork (like you!), and I’ve sent them a link to your blog.

        Italy is wonderful, get there sooner rather than later.

  1. Oh, this brings me memories! My Mom used to boil cans of condensed milk, very popular in Brazil, BTW. She used the pressure cooker, and then the open can would be available in the fridge – I enjoyed it spoon by spoon, no need for anything else… of course, a pie makes it simply irresistible! 😉

    • Good evening Sally! I never thought boiling the cans just to enjoy it from the can but I can tell it doesn’t all make it into the pie!! As you know this pie is easy to make! 🙂 I loved your post on the bread!

  2. Looks fantastic! And I love the tip about not opening the can since the caramel might hit the ceiling, ha ha ha also a nice place setting with your hand-made cutting board. Very inviting!

  3. I went back to see if I could buy more Dulce de Leche (after the ice cream used it up!) at Target- by the way… no more. It looks like I will have to start boiling my condensed milk 😦 Let me know if you find it anywhere!!

    • I can’t find Dulce de Leche anywhere but I did not check Target. Going there tomorrow to get a few sale items. You should try the Caramel Pie if you like caramel, it’s delicious! 🙂 I will let you know if I find it.

  4. I am so tempted by this recipe Michael! I used to boil up those tins for caramel too, but they have started selling it ready-caramelised in the tin now… doesn’t taste quite so good as doing it yourself somehow, but makes this dessert even easier and quicker to make! 😀

  5. When I made that butterscotch pie, I had one full-sized graham cracker crust leftover – guess what I am doing with it? Yep, making this pie. I”m pinning today although I think I can remember it! Wonderful Pie!!

  6. Another way to make dulce de leche that takes less time and you don’t have to wait for it to cool is: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Scrape the condensed milk into a 9-by-13-inch glass baking dish and sprinkle with a scant 1/2 teaspoon of fleur de sel. Cover the dish with foil and place it in a roasting pan. Add enough hot water to the pan to reach one-third of the way up the side of the baking dish. Bake, lifting the foil to stir 2 or 3 times, until the condensed milk is golden and thickened, about 2 hours; add more water to the roasting pan as necessary. The consistency of the caramel should be like dulce de leche. Don’t worry if it is lumpy; it will smooth out as it chills.

Leave a comment