Seedless Grapes

June 28, 2014

seedless-neptune-grapes

Our grape vines are loaded with grapes again this year. Everyone in our family enjoys eating grapes including our two year old grandsons. All the grapes I grow are seedling, so far I have Mars, Neptune and Red Flame. All of these are seedless table grapes. All of these grapes are very sweet, Mars is a slip skin grape.

neptune-grapes

While at the beach we had deer eat a good many of the grapes but I used Irish Spring soap recommended by Julie at Cookiecrumbstoliveby blog. Julie also has deer visiting her beautiful garden. Check out her post! Julie has a beautiful vegetable garden and has been working hard in her garden, too hard to have the deer take it from her!

neptune-grape-bunch

If you want to read about how I prepared the soil and planted my grapes, read my post from last year,  Growing Seedless Grapes.

Our youngest grandson is almost 12 months old and he loves grapes. We have to peel them right now because the skin is too tough for me him to eat right now.  He will eat a big handful in a minute!

Nothing better than hand picked fresh sweet seedless grapes! 🙂

Do you grow grapes? What types of grapes do you grow or enjoy eating?

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Seedless Grapes

  1. these are lovely–I’ve never tried my hand at growing grapes but I have taken to freezing seedless grapes for a quick and refreshing snack or a fun little “ice cube” for a nice glass of wine—
    And speaking of such—do I hear the wheels turning for a nice little Michael’s Mountain Burgundy or a delightfully crisp Lacio Pinot Grigio ?! 🙂

    • My wife and girls love ice grapes them too, especially when it’s a drink that you don’t want the ice to melt to water it down. Be careful not to break a tooth on the ice grapes! Love wine, especially Pinot Grigio but I don’t think I would be good at making wine! 🙂

  2. The grapes are wonderful! Looks so juicy! Yummy 🙂
    Very interesting post Michael, well done .You are doing a fabulous work with the grapes.
    Leia

  3. And you grow grapes too! My mom had grapes. They were wild and just grew up the fence. They were purple – perhaps Concord grapes. She would make jelly with them. But at some point they got rid of them. I think they were buggy!

    • Yes, I love grapes and wonderful memories picking and eating them at my grandmothers and grandfathers as a kid. Really planted them for my grandchildren so they will also have memories eating them with me! 🙂 Grapes make great ice cubes too in fruity drinks, like the drink you posted this week 🙂

  4. Nice grape shots. I’ve not one for the grapes with the skins that slip off, they seem a bit sour to me. My favorite are the green grapes (the seedless variety). We don’t grow ours though, easier to get them at the store.

Leave a Reply

