Privacy

July 3, 2014

privacy-gate

Our privacy gate with rope lights mounted on the gate

We have a long private drive nearly a mile long that winds along the mountain side to our home. Our home is at the very end of the private drive. About 2000 feet before our home we installed a privacy gate made from wrought iron. Our gate is a swing gate which I have installed an automatic gate opener 🙂 It opens using a remote control, who doesn’t like remote controls? 🙂

private drive gate

We really didn’t want a gate but until we put up the gate we had a lot of unwanted visitors driving right up to our house all hours of the day and night. People think that our private drive will take them over the mountain even though there are two Dead End signs and no trespassing signs too! I mounted rope lights that is on a timer to light the gate to prevent people from running into the gate at night.

driveway-after-gate

This is the view just past our gate heading to our home! What you can’t see is all the security cameras and the underground sensor for the drive way!

Smile and have a great day!

Linking to TexWisGirl’s Good Fences #15.

Check out my one year anniversary post Happy Anniversary giveaway!!

 

Click image to see my handcrafted cutting boards.

double handle cutting board

 

 

22 thoughts on “Privacy

  1. These are gorgeous gates. You certainly have got the ” no unwanted visitors” sorted out well. I am sure it is a lovely drive up to your home.

  2. Beautiful! Our old house had a very long driveway and I know what you mean by people coming by ‘just to see the view’. I’d say it’s a private drive and they’d stop in the middle of the driveway and get out and look out over the town. It was weird. We never put up gates but we thought about it.

    • Yep, it’s crazy. We have no trespassing signs and they still keep driving to see where the road takes them. What caused us to put up the gate was we have a visitor about 10:30 one night and the guy came all the way tot he house and got out. I walked outside and told him to leave that this was private property and did he not see the No trespassing signs and he said yes but he didn’t care. After 10 minutes what seemed like forever, I had my phone in hand and started to call the police, plus I showed my gun to get him to leave. It really made my wife nervous. We didn’t want a gate but we had too 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend! We will be celebrating the 4th of July 🙂

  3. you have a marvelous driveway! and great to have the gate! ours is only 1/4 mile long, but i keep the gate at the entrance locked about 99% of the time to keep folks out. they tend to come in to ‘sell’ stuff, look around, whatever…

  4. Sometimes I wish we had such a long private drive without people turning in our driveway or traffic noise from the main road…. but we have a few good neighbours as compensation! That sounds like a great system you have installed.

    • good evening Cathy! I know what you mean about the turning around and the traffic noise, that is why we moved where we are now. I never dreamed that we would have trespassers driving our private drive, especially all the way to our home, very annoying. I am glad you have nice neighbors, that really makes a big difference. 🙂

  5. A beautiful gate! I can’t remember do you get any snow??? In the North we typically like short drive ways so less snow to clear. 🙂 Looks like your house is set in a beautiful location!

Leave a comment