Bluebirds Building Nest

May 27, 2014

male and female bluebirds

Yesterday morning just before the sun came up I started watching these bluebirds building a nest. I watched them for about an hour and took nearly 100 pictures. These pictures were taken thru the window glass so they are not as clear as I would like them to be. I was afraid raising the window would scare them away.

bluebirds-on-house

The female was gathering the nesting material and would fly back and perch a minute before entering into the house. Sometimes the female would hand off to the male nesting material and he would go inside.

beautiful-female-bluebird

Most of the time she was gathering and handling all the nesting materials herself. About every five minutes she would fly out of the house to gather more material, fly back and start all over again.

bluebird-house-with-female-building-next

It seem like she would gather more pine needles than grass for the nest. On the above shot she couldn’t hardly get all of the material into the house.

blue-birds-building-nest

Another beak full!

bluebirds-perched

This is the second clutch or brood of the year for these bluebirds in this house and it is the fourth year that I have had bluebirds in this bluebird house.  Last year I count 4 different broods in this bluebird house. They will usually lay 4 to 7 eggs the first brood but average is 4 to 5 eggs and toward the end of the season they will only lay 1, 2 or 3 eggs.

bluebird-with-nesting-material

male-blue-bird

The male has the striking blue color!

male-eastern-bluebird

male-eastern-bluebird-going-into-house

female-bluebird-going-into-box

female-bluebird-going-into-nest-with-twigs

I really enjoyed watching them build their nest and got some great pictures! I hope you enjoyed them as much as I did!

Do you have a bluebird house? Have you had bluebird nest in your house this year?

2013 Bluebird post:
It’s Bluebird Nesting Time Again
Bluebirds Eating Mealworms
Bluebirds and Mealworm Feeder

For more information on my unique bluebird houses, view more images or to order, click SHOP NOW

Shop Now

 

gegorous bluebird house

 

 

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “Bluebirds Building Nest

  1. I love watching birds build nests. I wish I had blue birds here, but I’ve just never seen any in my yard. Thanks for the photos and fun of watching yours build their nest. Hugs, Natalie 🙂

  2. Michael, these are wonderful images–a step by step of nest building 101 🙂 what a special treat!!!
    Thank you so much for sharing these!!
    They obviously think your houses are the best!!
    1 week and I head to Savannah–aaaggghhhh 🙂

  3. how very cute are they! we have a few houses around that have been used in the past. this year they took over the fresh woodpecker hole in our new power pole!

  4. What a wonderful way to spend an hour of your life. I’ll bet those birds are thanking their lucky stars for a new home as nice as that one!

  5. Lovely shots Michael! We don’t have bluebirds here, but they are so pretty – even the female without the strong colour. We had Great Tits nesting in our box this spring. They are also pretty, although not as cute as the smaller BlueTits. And they chirp so nicely too!

    • Hi Peter, I am so glad you visited my site! I have a bluebird house where today the bluebirds have started building their third nest. I have been watching the nearly all day, they carry nesting materials to the house. 🙂

Leave a comment