Ostrich Ferns Emerge

Home

fiddleheads-ostrich-ferns

It’s finally warm enough for the Ostrich Ferns, they are emerging everywhere. The ones that get more sun have already completely emerged and the others in deeper shade are just now showing their fiddleheads!

ostrich-fern-fiddleheads

The Ostrich Fern grows all over the mountain in the shade in the wet low lying areas and along the creek beds. Some are 18 to 20 inches tall but in other areas where the trees are tall they are growing 3 to 5 foot tall.

ostrich-ferns-fiddleheads

The Ostrich ferns are one of the most beautiful and showy ferns. As you can see they are erect in stature with graceful arching fronds that resemble huge ostrich ferns.

ostrich-ferns

These stand nearly 3 feet tall.

Ostrich-Fern

“Dream as if you’ll live forever, live as if you’ll die today.” – James Dean

 

Previous Post:
What I saw
Blooms Are Every Where
Rocky Creek Moss Covered Rocks
Mother Black Bear and Cub
Deer on the Mountain
Walnut Step Stool: Part IV
 

42 thoughts on “Ostrich Ferns Emerge

  1. Oh I love fern fronds when they unfurl. I have some kind of fern that comes up in my Azalea bed each year. I was afraid this cold winter had done them in, but just today I saw several fronds pushing their way up. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

  2. You have caught us up Michael… some of our ostrich ferns started emerging on Saturday and are about a foot high already – you can almost watch them grow! 😀 Have you ever eaten them?

  3. Nice to see ferns in your area have broken through the ground. With yesterday’s snow still lingering on the ground, it maybe some time yet before we see any fronds in this area. Still, seeing yours is a hopeful sign.

  4. These are my favorite ferns, I think. They’re not coming up yet but maybe this weekend. Some people like to eat the fiddleheads but I have heard differing accounts of how they taste. Haven’t tried them, myself.

    • Me too, I really like seeing these ferns around, they are beautiful! I have never tried eating them either. I am glad you had a chance to visit, I enjoyed visiting your site too. You have a nice post and pictures too! 🙂

Leave a comment